Influencers of digital marketing 2021 | Inbound Marketing Agency

We are approaching the second anniversary of our Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers Report, according to Buzzsumo, so let’s go back to Buzzsumo and take a look at what happened over the last 12 months.

Influencer marketing has gone from strength to strength in recent years and brands now see it as a central element of their marketing strategy. While the last 12 months have been uncertain due to the pandemic, the popularity of influencer marketing has continued to grow. According to the Influencer Marketing Benchmark Report 2021 From Influencer Marketing Hub, 75% of respondents intend to have a dedicated budget for influencer marketing in 2021.

Therefore, it is important for these brands to ensure that they are working with the ideal influencer for their audience and campaign. There are countless online tools that help identify key influencers and for this report I am using Buzzsumo influencer reports.

What are the Buzzsumo influencer reports?

If you’ve read the last two installments of our Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencer Reports, you will be aware of Buzzsumo’s influencer report. But here’s a quick overview, or you can find more information on why Buzzsumo is the perfect tool for content marketers here.

BuzzSumo’s influencer tool identifies key influencers based on various search options, such as a specific topic, domains, or searching for specific users. These individuals or companies are then ranked based on their “influence” on the specific search term. Influence is often a difficult thing to define, however, Buzzsumo states that someone’s influence is measured by how much they can impact the reach of a post or article.

The influencers report can be modified to sort the results based on various factors, including the content they create and share, the average number of retweets they receive, and the relevance of their content.

For the following list, I removed all companies that were included to help highlight specific influencers. As a result, some big brands like Moz, Econsultancy, and Google Analytics have been removed to highlight people, not companies. Other than that, the list has not been tampered with, it has been pulled directly from Buzzsumo, which means that neither I nor Browser Media have had any impact on individual rankings.

Key Digital Marketing Influencers Statistics for 2021

  • Again, this list shows that having a large following does not necessarily mean that one individual has the most influence. The average number of followers is roughly 88,000, and while it is still a relatively large number of followers, the range varies from just over 3,000 to over 3 million.
  • The average number of followers has decreased slightly since 2020, where it was approximately 94,000, however, the number of accounts that these users follow has also decreased in the last 12 months (39,000 vs 17,000). This points to the fact that these people are more selective as to who they follow and could point to an increase in work with smaller influencers who may have more engaged followers.
  • On average, these people get 18 retweets per post, highlighting the fact that their audience is constantly interacting with their posts. Furthermore, 40% of all tweets shared by these influencers are replies, further indicating the fact that they are interacting with their audience, which in turn increases their influence.
  • Following the previous point, on average 17% of all shared tweets from these 100 influencers are retweets. Again, this shows that they are engaging with their audience and sharing content posted by other users, another example of how they are influencing the reach of a post.

Buzzsumo’s Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers for 2021

  1. Sorav Jain – @soravjain
  2. Neil Patel – @neilpatel
  3. Rand Fishkin – @randfish
  4. Eric Enge – @stone
  5. Amber Naslund – @ambercadabra
  6. Barry Schwartz – @rustybrick
  7. Rahul Wadhawan – @rahul_wadhawan
  8. JJ De la Torre – @delatorrejj
  9. Douglas Karr – @douglaskarr
  10. Amit Panchal – @amithpanchal
  11. AJ Ghergich – @seo
  12. Brian Dean – @backlinko
  13. Robert Jones – @exodusanalytics
  14. Ciamhie Mc – @ciamhiemc
  15. Mandy Edwards – @memktgservices
  16. Dan Knowlton – @ dknowlton1
  17. Tod Maffin – @todmaffin
  18. Nathan Allen Pirtle – @to work
  19. Bob Hutchins – @bobhutchins
  20. Ammar Mohammed – @ammr
  21. Bill Sebald – @billsebald
  22. John Lincoln –@johnelincoln
  23. Shashi Bellamkonda – @shashib
  24. Dennis Yu – @dennisyu
  25. Jay Feitlinger – @jayfeitlinger
  26. Avinash Kaushik – @avinash
  27. Franz Russo – @franzrusso
  28. Clo Willaerts – @bnox
  29. Derek Edmond – @derekedmond
  30. Gareth O’Sullivan – @_garethg
  31. Alex Jimenez – @ralexjimenez
  32. Ryan Deiss – @ryandeiss
  33. Oli Gardner – @oligardner
  34. Ian Schafer – @ischafer
  35. Fadhila Brahimi – @fbrahimi
  36. Cyril Coste – @cyrilcoste
  37. Jon Henshaw – @henshaw
  38. AJ Kohn – @ajkohn
  39. Marc Cortes – @marccortes
  40. Andrew Grill – @andrewgrill
  41. Marie Haynes – @marie_haynes
  42. Mordecai Holtz – @mordecaiholtz
  43. Paddy Moogan – @paddymoogan
  44. Andrew Hickey – @andrewmhickey
  45. Stoney deGeyter – @stoneyd
  46. Ned James – @ ned_james2
  47. Jamie Riddell – @jamieriddell
  48. Dan Sodergren – @dansodergren
  49. Winston Binch – @winstonbinch
  50. Kristi Kellogg – @kristikellogg
  51. Mike McGrail – @mike_mcgrail
  52. Samuel Scott – @samueljscott
  53. Minter Dial – @mdial
  54. Alex Moss – @alexmoss
  55. Mark Silva – @marksilva
  56. Jamie Turner – @askjamieturner
  57. Ashwini Dodani – @ashwinidodani
  58. Jerry Daykin – @jdaykin
  59. Jonathan Lacoste – @lacostejonathan
  60. Geoff D. – @geoffdx
  61. Chris Harrington – @chrisharrington
  62. Linda Boff – @lindaboff
  63. Derek Halpern – @derekhalpern
  64. Gabriele Carboni – @gabbariele
  65. Donald Miller – @donaldmiller
  66. Peep Laja – @peeplaja
  67. Bryan Eisenberg – @thegrok
  68. Chris Winfield – @chriswinfield
  69. Matt Cutts – @mattcutts
  70. Eric Siu – @ericosiu
  71. Lisa Barone – @lisabarone
  72. Cameron Conaway – @cameronconaway
  73. Alan K’necht – @aknecht
  74. Bryan Adams – @bryan_phc
  75. Mike Ramsey – @mikeramsey
  76. Yehoshua Coren – @analyticsninja
  77. Andrew Medal – @andrewmedal
  78. Amy Landino – @schmittastic
  79. Sean Ellis – @seanellis
  80. Gary Vaynerchuk – @garyvee
  81. Robert Blake – @robertoblake
  82. Chad Pollitt – @chadpollitt
  83. Syed Balkhi – @syedbalkhi
  84. Kristi Hines – @kristileilani
  85. Lara O’Reilly – @larakiara
  86. Gary Illyes – @method
  87. Michael Litman – @mlitman
  88. Laurent Bour – @laurentbour
  89. Christina Nicholson – @christinaallday
  90. Christine Gritmon – @cgritmon
  91. Iain Tait – @iaintait
  92. Brittany Berger – @thatbberg
  93. Jonathan Long – @long
  94. Steven Bartlett – @stevebartlettsc
  95. Tarcizio Silva – @tarciziosilva
  96. Hrish Thota – @dhempe
  97. Mayur Gupta – @inspiremartech
  98. Brandon Berger – @brandonberger
  99. Jeet Banerjee – @thejeetbanerjee
  100. Matthew Howells-Barby – @matthewbarby

Congratulations to all the new entries in the top 100, and congratulations to everyone for how they appear in any of the previous editions !!

** Disclaimer: Browser Media has had no influence or impact on this listing, it is based solely on Buzzsumo influencer reports. To ensure that the data remains fair and unbiased, there have been no alterations from any other source. **

Fishawack Health Acquires Closer Analytics Driven Digital Marketing Agency

SRV Media publishes two patents related to digital marketing and AI